Strengthened Energy Cooperation with IEA

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Energy Working Group (APEC EWG) signed a cooperation agreement with the International Energy Agency (IEA) on 13 October 2015 at the Shangri-La Mactan in Cebu as part of the 12th APEC Energy Ministers’ Meeting.

The two parties held a signing ceremony for a Joint Declaration for Future Collaboration with EWG Lead Shepherd Dr. Phyllis Yoshida and IEA Director Keisuke Sadamori as signatories. The event was witnessed by Philippine Department of Energy OIC-Secretary Zenaida Y. Monsada, Usec. Loreta G. Ayson, and APEC Secretariat Executive Director Alan Bollard.

Through this binding document, APEC and IEA seek to expand cooperation in areas of mutual interest and benefit, including energy security, energy resilience, energy efficiency, renewable energy, energy data and statistics, among others.

Founded in 1974, the IEA was initially designed to help countries co-ordinate a collective response to major disruptions in the supply of oil such as the crisis of 1973/4. It is also greatly involved in the global dialogue on energy, providing authoritative statistics and analysis.