DOE Awards Energy Efficiency Achievers


Photo on DOE Awards Energy Efficiency Achievers

(Ortigas, Quezon City) The Department of Energy, along with its partners, successfully hosted this year’s Don Emilio Abello Energy Efficiency Awards on 04 December 2015 at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria recognizing individuals and companies whose exemplary energy efficiency initiatives significantly reduce their energy consumption.

Celebrated every December since 1982 as part of the National Energy Consciousness Month, the DEAEEA was named after the former Meralco Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Emilio Abello, who also held the position of Chairman of the Energy Conservation Movement in the country.

The energy efficiency initiatives of the DEAEEA companies have resulted to a total of 776.3 Million Kilowatt Hours of electricity equivalent to Php 6.34 billion (more than 202.6 Million Liters of Oil Equivalent) in energy savings. According to DOE data, the industrial and commercial sectors are among the top four highest consuming sectors in the country taking up more than 40% of Final Energy Demand in 2014.

Energy efficiency and conservation is also one of the DOE’s measures in ensuring energy security for the country. This is especially significant given the current power scenarios of the nation and in light of El Nino.

“Through our collective efforts which included the implementation of energy efficiency projects and measures, installation of the latest available technologies, and by the innovation of energy conservation techniques, we were able to successfully avert challenges in the country’s power situation,” said OIC-Assistant Secretary Patrick T. Aquino as he addressed the awardees during the event.

“The DOE hopes that everyone keeps on applying energy efficiency and conservation in their lifestyle, especially with the looming effects of El Niño and climate change to our energy systems,” DOE Secretary Zenaida Y. Monsada said.

Among the awardees is Mr. Meneleo J. Carlos, Jr. of RI Chemical Corporation for his valuable contribution to energy efficiency and conservation of the country. Mr. Carlos, as the former chairman of the Federation of Philippine Industries advocated energy conservation among industries to achieve competitiveness.

Meanwhile, SM City Lipa, Wyeth Philippines Inc., San Miguel Yamamura Packaging Corp.-Canlubang PET & CAPS Plant, Ayala Life-FGU Center Makati, SM City Batangas, San Miguel Yamamura Packaging Corporation-Metal Closure and Lithography Plant (San Fernando), SM City Lucena, Greenbelt 4, and SM City Iloilo were given the Hall of Fame Award. This award is given to a company that received three Outstanding Awards in three consecutive years. A company that has received three Outstanding Awards for more than a three-year period may qualify to this award provided that the said company has continuously improved their Specific Energy Consumption (SEC) and the second and third Outstanding Awards should be received within ten years from the first Outstanding Award.

The annual event is jointly organized by the Philippine National Oil Co., National Power Corp., Meralco, Petron Corp., Chevron Philippines Inc., Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corp., Energy Development Utilization Foundation Inc., Energy Efficiency Practitioners Association of the Philippines, and the Energy Conservation Center Inc.