On 26 February 2024, the Philippine Department of Energy (DOE) and the Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources and Energy (MENRE) of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) jointly launched one (1) Pre-Determined Area (PDA) for coal and three (3) PDAs for petroleum in the BARMM for offer to interested applicants. 


Area No. Area Resource
PDA-BC-1 Lanao del Sur Coal
PDA-BP-1 Onshore Cotabato Basin Petroleum
PDA-BP-2 Offshore Sulu Sea Basin Petroleum
PDA-BP-3 Offshore Sulu Sea Basin Petroleum

The locations of these four (4) PDAs are shown in the map below.